Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

Perspective

I’ve been such a total me-monster. I have been so caught up in my problems and my issues processing thing and my understanding of why I don’t do this well or that well. I have been completely ignorant of the one thing that matters.

It’s not about me.

This whole universe was made from nothing by God. He sustains it. He created it. No one else exists on his level. He’s bigger and better than everything in existence. And I, in my closed-minded reflections on my own personal pain, ignore the glaringly obvious fact that God is so much bigger than it all.

For the Lord is great and greatly to be praised;He is also to be feared above all gods.  For all the gods of the peoples are idols, But the Lord made the heavens.  Honor and majesty are before Him; Strength and gladness are in His place.   ~1 Chronicles 16:24-26

It’s not that I realized that God is big enough to move on my behalf. It’s that I realized, thanks to a well-timed sermon on worship, that God is big enough to eclipse all problems. He’s not a servant I call on to aid me in my plights. He’s God. The all-knowling, all-wise, all-powerful creator of everything. Who cares if I don’t understand how to evangelize or what to do next in life? Who cares about my health problems or my emotional concerns? God is HUGE! God is GOOD. God is MASSIVE. God is MAGNANIMUS!

I should spend so much more time dwelling on the enormity of the God of all existence than I do on my problems, because he is great, and greatly to be praised. I think I’m finally beginning to understand what it means to worship God, not because of what he does, but because of who he is. The other way around, I get caught up in all of the things I think he hasn’t done. This way, I remember what I really am in relation to him, and I am forced to acknowledge is infinite superiority. At the moment, it’s an inferiority complex I’m comfortable with.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
