Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

One Moment of Grace

grace

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

Take one moment, just one, to reflect on the grace of God. Think about what it means to be saved “by grace” and for his grace to be “sufficient for you.” One moment. That’s tall it takes. All it takes to align your vision ans set you straight for the day.

In the song I blogged yesterday, “Jesus I Come,” the chorus contains a line that aptly portrays what it is like to receive God’s grace. “I will rise, stand redeemed, Heaven open over me.” Grace is what allows us to rise and stand redeemed with heaven open over us. We don’t strive towards it, we don’t achieve it. We say “Thank you, Jesus. Just as I am, I come.” When we reflect, just for a moment, how free we are, and how amazing it is that we have access to such amazing grace, we can’t help but thank God.

You, as a child of God, can rise and stand redeemed with heaven open over you. You can be confident that Christ is the one holding heaven open over you. You don’t have to do enough. You don’t have to “be Christian enough.” All you have to do is accept his grace. His grace really is strong enough. For everything. For all of it, whatever ‘it’ is. His power is made perfect in our weakness. That means we can’t disqualify ourselves by being weak. Rather, we qualify ourselves.

I literally spent 5 minutes this morning focusing on God’s grace, and it spun my entire day around. After 2 days of wrestling with episodes of anxiety and depression, My entire outlook on the day shifted from “Here we go again,” to “nothing is too hard for my God!”

I challenge you to make a conscious choice to reflect just for a moment on the grace of God today. Pick one verse, one song, one line that communicates the grace of God to you, and make it your day’s anchor. Write it in your diary, on your mirror, in your phone. Post it on Facebook. Write it in a comment below. Make it obvious to yourself. Do that every day for a week. See if it doesn’t change something in your life. See if it doesn’t change everything.

2 comments on “One Moment of Grace

  1. josiahjjr
    January 17, 2015

    Wonderful post! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂
    Here’s my verse I turn to when the world is spinning faster than I can keep up with:

    … do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭6-7‬ ESV)

    • content2b
      January 17, 2015

      It’s a beautiful verse. “And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Peace is something we normally see as calm and gentle, but here it’s a guard, like a soldier posted outside the door of our hearts. God’s grace protects us. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

