Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

A Good Friend

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” 

Proverbs 27:17

holding-hands

A good friend is one who challenges you. Someone who is kind to me when I need it, but who is also not afraid to contradict me. A good friend will ask me questions until I don’t know how to answer anymore, forcing me to think from a deeper side of myself. I don’t just laugh with a good friend, I cry with a good friend, I share sensitive truths with a good friend. I trust that friend with the purest, rawest, least processed form of myself that may or may not be ugly at the moment it is revealed.

Not every friend is someone you trust with your “uglies”: your ugly days, your ugly thoughts, your ugly feelings. Some friends can’t handle them, and that’s not always their fault. Some friends can handle the ugly, but that’s as far as it goes. The “kindred spirits,” though, comprehend the ugly. They see your shifting, oozing mass of self and see what it’s trying to become, then try to help you become it. They don’t turn away when you are unable to cover your own nakedness. They cover you and protect you when you are vulnerable as much as they stand by you when you are strong.

These friends are like diamonds to find. Sometimes it feels like they’re like unicorns to find. But when you find a friend whose always kind and always honest, you’ve found one of the rarest things in the world. And one of the best ways to find a friend like that, is to be that friend. You will attract all kinds of friends like this, some worthy, others endeavoring to be so, but eventually, you’ll meet with people with whom you can share your soul.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2015 by in Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , , .
