Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

NaPoWriMo Day 17: Jealous

jealous 1

Jealous

Oh, how your smile stabs my heart!

My gut twists and I flinch.

I mourn my failure in the light of your success

~

I look at you and I want your life,

But only if I can have the nice parts,

And ignore the parts that look like mine.

~

After all, why should I count my blessings?

It’s easier to count yours;

Gratefulness is hard work,

And I’d rather covet your good fortune

Than augment my character by being content with my own.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2015 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , .
