Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

NaPoWriMo Day 21: “Deeper”

It’s really far in

Isn’t it?

How deep? How far?

How much of me

Do you have to hack

Away? How many gallons

Of my blood do I have to

Bleed before you are through?

~

And with no pain killers.

Only with pains that kill

Do you tear away at my flesh.

It’s in very deep, you say?

It’s found a way to

Wrap around my heart.

Slight discomfort is

An understatement. The

Pain will kill me!

~

And of all things to use

For this procedure

A sword. No polite

Scalpel for acute

Incisions. A piece

Forged for battle will

Make war on this renegade flesh

Within me, and will leave

Scars.

~

Then, Doctor? Then

Will I be whole?

Then will this pain

Subside? Or will

I die in agony

Praying laboriously for

That final breath

To come?

Leave a Reply

