Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

Summer Reading book #3: The Hobbit

The Hobbit book cover

“You are a very fine person, Mr. Baggins, and I am very fond of you, but you are only quite a little fellow in a wide world after all.”

My third summer reading endeavor ended up being a blast from the past. I re-read J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I realized after I watched the final instalment in the recent trilogy (why a trilogy?) that I couldn’t remember which parts of the film were bloat-content and which parts were genuinely from the book (I mean, besides the obvious, like the presence of Legolas and Tauriel and the unnecessary extra content about Azog). I needed to refresh my memory, so I picked up a copy from the library and read/listened to the story all the way through for the first time in years.

J. R. R. Tolkien will always be one of my favorite authors. I am in love with The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and I’ve read and listened to those three books so many times that I can almost quote them strait through. But this book didn’t get as much attention from me in my earlier years of Middle-Earth-binging. Reading the book now, I can see why, in spite of the rather impressive vocabulary and verbal prowess exhibited by the author, this book was intended for readers ages 6-9 years old: it’s a good old-fashioned adventure story. There and back again, and what happened on the way. The book is so unlike the Lord of the Rings in that respect. But if you don’t try to make a high-fantasy epic out of the story (cough cough…Peter Jackson…cough cough), it’s really enjoyable. Point of the story is the journey and what little Bilbo encounters. It’s about him changing form a creature of comfort to a “hobbit of the world”.

Over all, I’m glad I included this title in my summer reading list. If you haven’t read the Hobbit, it’s a good read. It’s light, enjoyable, and in no way intimidating.

Have you read The Hobbit? If so, how old were you when you read it? What did you think of the films? Do you have any recommendations for read-alikes?

Thanks for stopping by!

Yours Truly,

Regina, the Pensive Ponderer.

2 comments on “Summer Reading book #3: The Hobbit

  1. Sheree Christoffersen
    June 13, 2015

    I’ve gone back to ‘The Hobbit’ a number of times since I first read it in 4th grade, including reading it to my children. I think it’s hard to beat as a G rated adventure.

  2. Nicole.Ilene
    June 17, 2015

    I first read it a couple years ago and loved it! I recently got my own copy, so I look forward to re-reading it down the line. I agree with you that they could have done an exceptional one movie and one movie only. 🙂

Leave a Reply

