Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

Summer Reading book #8: “A Separate Peace”

A Separate Peace cover

“There was no harm in taking aim, even if the target was a dream.”

My eight book of the summer is A Separate Peace by John Knowels. I picked this book up for academic reasons. I read it back in high school and I remember hating it. At the age of 14, I didn’t understand the point, but an opportunity brought the book back across my path and I am glad it did. This book instantly became one of my favorite 20th century American classics.

Without giving too much away, the book is about two boys in school in 1942. They are a year away from graduation and the draft, since WWII is in full spring. But these two boys, Gene, the narrator, and his best friend Finny, live in a world apart from the global terror. The book is full of “feels,” as they call them in the YA book community now, and complicated human emotions. It’s a coming-of-age novel unlike any I have yet read, and I highly recommend it because it forces you to ask questions about identity and what makes people who they are. I got to know myself a little bit better reading this book.

What’s the last book that made you look at your life in a different way? Was it a novel or a work of non-fiction? Any recommendations? And if you have read this book, how did you like it?

Happy Reading!

Regina, the Pensive Ponderer

One comment on “Summer Reading book #8: “A Separate Peace”

  1. Levi
    December 17, 2015

    I never read this in school or any other time, so I finally did this past fall. Glad I got around to hearing of it. I wonder what other “required reading” out there I have missed out on.

    Check out my review if you’re interested: https://leviathanbound.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/a-separate-peace/

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

