Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

June Wrap-Up and My Ambitions July TBR

I am pretty proud of myself! I completed a grand total of 8 books this month, all of which are logged and reviewed elsewhere on the blog. Quick Recap. I read 8 books in all, 2 of which were non-fiction:

  1. Biblical Religion and the Search for Ultimate Reality by Paul Tillich
  2. Shadow Puppets by Orson Scott Card
  3. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  4. The Time Machine by H. G. Wells
  5. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  6. The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning
  7. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
  8. A Separate Peace by John Knowels

So much for the Wrap-Up! On to my To-be-read list for next month…oh this list. I find myself growing very ambitious this month. I am determined to read several of the books on myself/on my tablet that have been with me for a while. Let’s start with the books I am currently reading and go from there:

1.Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

 Catching_Fire cover

2. The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer

knowledge_of_the_holy_tozer

3. Moby Dick by Herman Melville

moby dick book cover

4. The Dynamics of Faith by Paul Tillich

dynamics of faith

5. Bakumon Vol. 1 by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

bakumon vol 1

All five of these books are marked “currently reading” on my Goodreads page and I’m too stubborn to quit a book once I’ve decided to read it. I’m still working on my Moby Dick project for teaching, so I am being intentional about completing it by the end of the month.

If 5 books (one of which is a BEAST of a classic) weren’t enough of a TBR for the month of July, I have several more sitting on my desk that I have designated for this month. They are as follows (* means it’s for school):

  1. Night by Elie Wiesel*
  2. The Shack by Wm. Paul Young
  3. The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
  4. The Blind Contessa’s New Machine by Carey Wallace
  5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  6. 90 Days To Your Novel by Sarah Domet
  7. Boundaries in Dating by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend
  8. The Odyssey by Homer*
  9. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

That’s a grand total of 14 books in a month, ladies and gentleman. And one of those books is the Oddyssy.  I’m expecting some overflow for a couple of those non-fiction books, and I may have to push Throne of Glass and Miss Peregrine’s to August (I keep seeing these on BookTube and I want to read them), but I’m hopeful! I think I can read at least 10 of these books in July.

What do you think? Can I do 10 books this month? Can I do all 14? Wish me luck! Happy Reading!

Regina, the Pensive Ponderer.

Leave a Reply

