Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

Summer Reading book# 9: “Bakuman Vol. 1”

bakumon vol 1

My 9th summer reading book was the easiest to finish from my July TBR since it’s a graphic novel. I kept seeing BookTubers, specifically JesseTheReader, mentioning this series and I thought I’d give it a try. I used to be really into manga and anime in my high school and college years, and I still appreciate it now, but I haven’t picked up a series that gripped me in a while.

This series is by Tsugumi Ohiba and Takeshi Obata, the creators of the hit series and tv show “Death Note,” but is of a completely different flavor than that dark story. In this series, two middle-school classmates who have no previous friendship spontaneously decided that they will become manga creators together. The story highlights the technical difficulties these boys will have to overcome in order to make their dreams come true.

While I have been out of touch with manga for a little bit, I really enjoyed the first volume. The final chapter left of in such a way that I now feel compelled to continue the series. That being said, I spent half of my time reading this story wishing I were done, but I think it was because it took so long for any of the real “action” to happen.

Are you into manga/anime? What series do you suggest I pick up in the future? What about other graphic novels? Happy Reading!

Regina, The Pensive Ponderer.

One comment on “Summer Reading book# 9: “Bakuman Vol. 1”

  1. ravennalockwood
    July 5, 2015

    I love Bakuman! Great pick!

Leave a Reply

