Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

A New Job and My Very Own Read-a-thon!

books.jpg

I just got a new job! After months of minimal employment working part-time as a tutor, I finally have a job teaching! God has been so good! The whole thing was a set-up. I may write another blog explaining just how God orchestrated this event, but in the meantime, suffice it to say that God came through for me in a pretty big and personal way.

Now comes the fun part. some of the readers out there know that August 9th to the 16th is BookTube-a-thon, and people are going to be reading as much as they can for a whole week. Well, school starts for me that week, and until then, I’ll be having a read-a-thon of my own. You see…I’m going to be teaching 9th and 10th grade English starting August 12th. That means I have a week and a half to get caught up on two grade levels of summer reading. That’s 6 books. In 9 days.

Here’s the list.

1. Puddin’head Wilson by Mark Twain

2. Piercing the Darkness by Frank Peretti

3. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

4. A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck

5. Jacob I Have Loved by Katherine Patterson

6. The Children’s Blizzard by David Laskin

Of these books, I have only read the forth one, and that was so long ago that I don’t remember any of the characters names. So I’ll be read-a-thoning this summer reading list next week. GOD HELP ME!

Have you read any of these books? How did you like them? How do you think teens will like them? Happy Reading!

Love Regina, the Pensive Ponderer

3 comments on “A New Job and My Very Own Read-a-thon!

  1. I think my daughters liked The Hiding Place – real life courage during WWII. Piercing the Darkness was good, but I think This Present Darkness was better – Peretti’s first angel/demon novel.

    • Pensive Ponderings
      August 14, 2015

      I have a bind-up of both books by Peretti, but I haven’t read the first book yet. Priorities lol. The Hiding Place was amazing, and I will be posting a review of it soon. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

