Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

The Head and the Heart

 

The head and the heart

They are too far apart

To truly be reconciled.

The thoughts of the mind

Are straight and refined

While the heart is content to be wild.

 

The head and the heart:

They are too far apart

For the heart to take the hint.

The heart always seems

To chase after dreams

While the head’s calculating what’s spent.

 

It’s over. All over.

It ended and now it’s just over.

And moreover

I wish it had never begun.

I wish that my heart would just turn tail and run,

Avoid it, deter it or hide from or shun

The things that are doomed to become so undone

Over. All over.

Because I wish they had never begun.

 

Impossible. It was impossible.

In fact, the statistics were hostile.

Mathematically speaking, just what was I thinking?

Did I really believe that I wouldn’t grieve

when my efforts just did not pay off?

When the numbers and logic would scoff?

And now it’s over. All over.

And I wish it had never begun.

But I guess it had never begun.

It was over before it’d begun.

 

The head and the heart

They are too far apart

To truly be reconciled

The life of the mind

Is clear and defined

While the heart is content to be wild

 

And no matter how clear

The logic I here

No matter how clear the decision

There’s some little part

Of my rebellious heart

That hopes and prays for a revision.

 

Hopeful. I’m so hopefull.

I am so undeterrably hopeful.

And I won’t fool myself

into factoring facts

into dreams and desires

when I am inspired to hope.

Just hope.

Because not everything is for calculating.

So what if there’r things in the way of my dreams?

I’ll still hope

That what they say is impossibly

is merely improbable,

Simpoly improbable.

probably probe-able,

and trying is so noble.

And I’m so hopeful.

 

The head and the heart

They are too far apart

To truly be reconciled

The life of the mind

Is clear and defined

While the heart is content to be wild

 

If I could just follow my head a bit more

my heart wouldn’t always end up on the floor.  

I glide up on hope like Ikaris on wax wings,

but the heat of reality melts all my dreams,

But like hydra heads they keep growing back,

seemingly undaunted by reasons attack.

I’m constantly torn between hope and the facts.

 

It is what it is, but it’s not what it seems.

The facts are not obstacles blocking our dreams

There’s power in having the faith to believe

That God dwells in the spaces and gaps the facts leave.

 

The head and the heart

Are just so far apart

That there’s space for me in the middle

I plan and I hope

When I fail, then I cope.

And learn to compromise a little.

 

Because both head and heart

Are integral parts

Of changing this world for the good.

And a bit of faith

Gives both parts a place

To do more than either one ever could.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2016 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
