Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

Doing Too Much

So, 2017 is in full swing, and I am still pretty enthusiastic about all of the goals I set, but I’m realizing something, or rather, God is signalling me about something.

I’m doing too much.

I didn’t think I set too many goals this year. I set 8, but I am finding that I can’t focus on all of them at once. It wasn’t until I heard a sermon last week, and then today when I started reading a book about simplifying my life that I got the sense that God is telling me to slow down, pick one thing to focus on, and then go at that with all I’ve got.

I guess right now I’m spreading my resources too thin. I can’t learn to eat healthy, figure out an exercise regimen, work on my budget, tackle my reading list, and get my work life together ALL AT ONCE. But that is what I’ve been trying to do.

In the sermon I was listening to, “The Power of Precision,” Pastor Steven Furtick said something that gave me pause, and even made me feel a little sick because I knew he was right. He said “You can’t win everywhere at once…In order to win some battles, you may have to choose which others you are going to lose.”

I hate losing. It hurts my heart and makes me feel like a failure, but wisdom says to tackle one thing at a time. It’s not failing at everything, it’s prioritizing.

So I am going to pray the prayer Pastor Steven suggested: “God, show me where to shoot my arrows.” Where are the tasks and goals I need to tackle now. Help me to focus on them so I can win where it counts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

