Pensive Ponderings

Reflections on things that matter.

SR Review #5: The Rosie Project

A theme you may have noticed by now is that I am not following my summer reading goal list very closely. The reason for this is two-fold. First of all, sometimes the books I plan to read aren’t interesting to me in the order I choose them. Second, not all of these books are immediately available to me. I don’t buy every book I want to read, and sometimes the public library has a wait, so, I pick up something else. Sometimes, that turns out to be a VERY good thing, as is the case for this book choice.

the rosie project

I read The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, and I gave this book a 4.5/5.

This book fit a very specific criteria I have on my 2017 reading challenge. I have several categories of books I’d like to read, one of which is to read 2 international non-classic books this year. This book is written by an Australian author, so it is my first! (I don’t count We in this category because it fell under the category “books I already owned,” of which I must read 10).

Honestly, this book was nearly perfect to me. I was in the mood for a romantic comedy, and this book was that for me in all of the best ways. The story is of 40 year old Dr. Don Tillman, a brilliant, but socially inept geneticist who has decided that after 4 decades of singleness, he should find a wife. All traditional forms of finding a mate strike him as time-consuming and ineffective, so he decides to set up a massive questionnaire that will, in theory, set him up with the most compatible woman. He names this endeavor “the wife project.” Don’s best friend, however, throws a wrench into the mechanism when he introduces a highly unqualified candidate: Rosie.

You can see where this is going, but rather than just being a feel-good, Hallmark-Channel-style rom-com, this book has some very insightful story elements. For instance, this story introduces a main character who is never outright diagnosed with Aspergers, but who is aware of the similarities between himself and those with the diagnosis. It shows him embracing his quirks and engaging with the world on his terms. Many characters in this book grow through engaging with problems in a brave and authentic way.

For any film fans out there, this story reminded me very much of the movie Adam, starring Hugh Dancy and Rose Bryne, but with a much more satisfying ending.

Have you found any accidental gems to read this summer? Comment and let me know.

Happy Reading!

 

One comment on “SR Review #5: The Rosie Project

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches
    July 17, 2017

    This definitely sounds like an interesting read! Books with illnesses in them (mostly mental ones) are something I only recently discovered I liked, so I’ll definitely need to pick this one up sometime.
    [If you also like books about mental illnesses, Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker might be a good one! It’s only being published in August though.]

Leave a Reply

